Christmas Stories from Other Voices

“The Word became flesh and made his dwelling among us.  We have seen his glory, the glory of the one and only Son, who came from the Father, full of grace and truth.”  ~John 1:14 (NIV)

By Alden L. Benton

Part of my personal Christmas ritual is to sit back and enjoy the spiritual and emotional warmth this day brings.  Beyond the gifts, the food, and family, I also use the day to catch up on my backlog of unread email.  In my quest to eliminate more than 1,000 emails from my inbox, I unearthed two columns about Christmas I want to share with my readers.

The first is from Ryan Bomberger who posted The Pro-Life Christmas Story: Stronger Than Our Circumstances on Town Hall.com.  The second column, also from Town Hall, by Rich Galen is titled Christmas 2016 — Six Words.

I hope these two columns lead you, as they did me, to contemplate the power of the Holy Spirit in guiding our lives and our society.  These articles also led me to contemplate the true character, the spirit, of America exemplified by the young men and women serve in our armed forces.

tumblr_mybue74zey1qaj2cmo7_1280

I hope these Christmas messages from other voices bring a deeper meaning to your Christmas day.


“At one time we too were foolish, disobedient, deceived and enslaved by all kinds of passions and pleasures.  We lived in malice and envy, being hated and hating one another.  But when the kindness and love of God our Savior appeared, he saved us, not because of righteous things we had done, but because of his mercy.  He saved us through the washing of rebirth and renewal by the Holy Spirit, whom he poured out on us generously through Jesus Christ our Savior, so that, having been justified by his grace, we might become heirs having the hope of eternal life.”
 ~Titus 3:3-7 (NIV)


© 2016 Alden L. Benton/Independence Creek Enterprises
All Rights Reserved
Follow me @AldenBenton on Twitter and
Alden Benton on Facebook

Leave a Reply

