New Strength and Vision for the Fight Ahead

We can complain because rose bushes have thorns, or rejoice because thorn bushes have roses.”  ~Abraham Lincoln

By Alden L. Benton

Writing a quality blog on a regular basis is a lot of work.  I constantly read email, news articles, and commentary.  This is not only physically and mentally tiring, it is challenging emotionally and spiritually as well.

I am a positive person by nature.  I try to find the good in the people and events I encounter every day.  However, as I read and think about the path our country is traveling it is not only difficult to keep a positive mind, it becomes difficult to steer away from anger and depression as I constantly read about the latest stupidity or power grab perpetrated by someone who is supposed to be serving us.

My words have been absent from this space for three weeks not because there is nothing to write about, but rather because I found it necessary to rest my mind and to contemplate the roots of my positivism and the historic events of both the founding of our nation and the events of Holy Week.

In both of these events, I find an overriding theme of positivism, of hope, of looking forward to, and creating something better.  This is the strength of a Christian and the strength of a patriot.

Yes, it matters what the forces aligned against freedom do, but it matters more what we do in opposing them.  We cannot allow ourselves to be dragged down into the mud of hopelessness and despair by their words and deeds.  Rather, we must remain secure in our knowledge that the principles we hold, the principles upon which our nation was founded, are right and good.

We cannot compromise.  We must win, but we must win the battle of ideas — of what is truly right for this country — and we cannot do this with negativism.  We cannot ignore the negatives and the naysayers; we must address and confront them with great conviction and strength. 

It often appears that the forces of darkness and evil have all the power, all of the tools.  This is their tactic: to try control the discussion by controlling the tools and the definitions of words and the “truth” of events.  To counter this, we must be diligent and knowledgeable.  Truth is constant, but in our society, it is very difficult to dig out. 

Is the God-given freedom to live one’s life as they choose worth fighting for?  Is securing the blessings of liberty and a free society for generations to come worth the price of diligence and knowledge?

I have found the answer to these questions through tireless reading, positive thinking, and faith in God.  I will not let the forces aligned against me win without a fight.  And it is here, through my words, that I will continue that fight, promoting the great ideas of liberty and freedom that drove our founders, and still drive Americans today.

My path is clear and my voice will no longer be silent.

What I am suggesting is that each of us turn from the negativism that permeates our society and look for the remarkable good among those with whom we associate, that we speak of one another’s virtues more than we speak of one another’s faults, that optimism replace pessimism, that our faith exceed our fears.  When I was a young man and was prone to speak critically, my father would say: “Cynics do not contribute, skeptics do not create, doubters do not achieve.”  ~Gordon B. Hinckley


Follow me on Twitter @AldenBenton, on Facebook, or
signup for a free email subscription or RSS feed.
©2013 Alden L. Benton/Independence Creek Enterprises
All Rights Reserved

Leave a Reply

