A Note to the Takers, A Reminder to Patriots

By Alden L. Benton

This message is for the takers. 

It is for those who think government should provide all their wants and needs.

It is for those in our society who believe they are entitled to live off the sweat of others’ labor.

This message is for those who think those who are successful did not build it.

This is for those who think they deserve a piece of what others actually built.

This is for the clueless fools who protest capitalism in their Versace jeans while carrying a Gucci bag and an iPhone.

This is for those who think everyone should be equal in their poverty.

This is for those who think we should spread the wealth around.

Entrepreneur’s Credo

I do not choose to be a common man,
It is my right to be uncommon … if I can,
I seek opportunity … not security.
I do not wish to be a kept citizen.
Humbled and dulled by having the
State look after me.
I want to take the calculated risk;
To dream and to build.
To fail and to succeed.
I refuse to barter incentive for a dole;
I prefer the challenges of life
To the guaranteed existence;
The thrill of fulfillment
To the stale calm of Utopia.
I will not trade freedom for beneficence
Nor my dignity for a handout
I will never cower before any master
Nor bend to any threat.
It is my heritage to stand erect.
Proud and unafraid;
To think and act for myself,
To enjoy the benefit of my creations
And to face the world boldly and say:
This, with God’s help, I have done
All this is what it means
To be an Entrepreneur.
~Thomas Paine,
Common Sense, January 10, 1776

For the Patriot, this is what life in America is all about and it is what we must fight to preserve.

For the Patriot, this is what we must think about as we listen to the presidential debates.

For the Patriot, this is what we must remember when we cast our ballots on November 6.

The choice we are confronted with is clear: freedom or servitude.


Follow me on Twitter @AldenBenton, on Facebook, or
signup for a free email subscription or RSS feed.
©2012 Alden L. Benton/Independence Creek Enterprises
All Rights Reserved

One response to “A Note to the Takers, A Reminder to Patriots

  1. Such a great reminder!
    Thomas Paine’s words are for every freedom-seeking person in the world, for as long as there is a world.
    That is the New World Order that the American Founders were seeking — nothing more, nothing less.

Leave a Reply

